GREAT FOOD

Family friendly bistro

3 BOTTLE SHOP LOCATIONS

Silo Central, Atherton Square and Railway Lane Drive Thru

COLD BEER

TAB and KENO 

NIGHTLIFE

Looking for a night out or planning a special event?

STAY

Conveniently located accommodation upstairs

DINE

PLAY

STAY

A FABULOUS PRE-WAR HOTEL RIGHT IN THE HEART OF

ATHERTON, ON THE TROPICAL TABLELANDS

One of Queensland’s Truly Unique Historical Hotels

 

The original Barron Valley Hotel was built in the 1880’s and proved so popular with the locals, was rebuilt 1907.

In 1930, the Nasser family took over the hotel, Scondor Nasser, grandfather to the present day Licensees, was born in Lebanon 1884 and came to Australia in 1897. Scondor learnt the art of boxing in Sydney for which he later became famous – at one time, sparring partner for the famous Jack Johnson before his World Heavyweight title fight with Tommy Burns in Sydney in 1908.

Scondor had big plans for the Barron Valley Hotel and in 1938, pulled the old wooded hotel down and rebuilt it with brick. The new two-story hotel was designed by the renowned architects Hall & Taylor in the art deco style and the original fittings and decor still remain today.

At the outbreak of WWII, the hotel was taken over by the Australian Army and served as their Headquarters and Officers Club for almost 3 years.

In 1946, Scondor’s son Harold Nasser, returned from WWII military in New Guinea and, with his wife Pat and sister Del and Joyce continued runnin the hotel until they all retired in 1990. The Barron Valley is currently managed by Harold’s son Michael and his wife Maree Nasser.

The Barron Valley Hotel is one of Queensland’s truly unique historical hotels, winning a “Centenary of Federation Award” and is listed with the Australian Heritage Commission. The hotel also won the Queensland Hotels Association 2002 award for ‘Outstanding Community Service and Achievement’ and was also the finalist in the Australian Hotels Association 2003 National Awards.

The Barron Valley Hotel was originally built with wood in the 1880’s, it was so popular with the locals it was rebuilt in 1938 with brick.

The Barron Valley or ‘The BV’ as it is known by locals as it stands in 2019.¬†